Buttermilk Pancakes

  I am a resourceful person. I am also a hungry person.

My Best Ever Banana Bread (Kinda) recipe required 2 tablespoons of buttermilk. 2 freaking tablespoons. You could not buy buttermilk at my grocery store in less than a quart-sized container. So what can I possibly do with the remaining buttermilk?!

BUTTERMILK PANCAKES for Saturday morning breakfast! YUM. Not exactly baking, but hey, it’s delicious so don’t hold it against me.

I also had some remaining blueberries from my Blueberry Cheese Muffins so I decided to throw those babies in there too!

Blueberry Buttermilk Pancakes. What a weekend treat. I found a Buttermilk Pancake recipe here: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/buttermilk-pancakes-ii/

Here is the recipe as I found it:

Buttermilk Pancakes

Prep: 15 minutes     Cook: 10 minutes

Ingredients

On the griddle

On the griddle

3 cups all-purpose flour
3 tablespoons white sugar
3 teaspoons baking powder
1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
3/4 teaspoon salt
3 cups buttermilk
1/2 cup milk
3 eggs
1/3 cup butter, melted

Directions

  1. In a large bowl, combine flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. In a separate bowl, beat together buttermilk, milk, eggs, and melted butter. Keep the two mixtures separate until you are ready to cook.
  2. Heat a lightly oiled griddle or frying pan over medium-high heat. You can flick water across the surface and if it beads up and sizzles, it’s ready!
  3. Pour the wet mixture into the dry mixture, using a wooden spoon or fork to blend*. Stir until it’s just blended together. Do not over stir! Pour or scoop the batter onto the griddle, using approximately 1/2 cup for each pancake. Brown on both sides and serve hot.

* Here is where I added the blueberries! You can add in anything you like, chocolate chips, nuts, bananas…

This recipe claims to make 12-5″ pancakes. However, this made much more than that! Like double that! I was worried that I needed to double the recipe to feed my family but am so glad I didn’t!

Add butter and your favorite syrup and gobble these babies up!

They tasted so much better than a pancake mix, definitely worth the extra effort!

Enjoy!

 
Leave a Reply

