Jambalaya

IMG_5918

It’s Mardi Gras, and what better way to celebrate when you can’t actually BE there, than by EATING like you are there!

And boy do I love to eat!

I haven’t had good cajun or creole cooking in quite some time, so tonight I thought I’d give it a whirl with some homemade slow cooker Jambalaya, because after all, it did originate in New Orleans… and… it just sounds damn good.

So I know I call myself BAKING & Brewing, and Jambalaya doesn’t really involve any baking… but I thought I’d share this recipe anyway because it was so delicious! And I did bake some yummy Corn Muffins to go along with the dish, which I will post next 🙂

I went to the store with an ingredients list based off of Emeril Lagasse’s Cajun Jambalaya, but when I got home I decided to use these ingredients (and some of my own), in different proportions in my slow cooker. The recipe that resulted was then something I kind of conjured up (except for the Emeril ESSENCE Creole Seasoning, which follows).

I added a full recipe of Emeril’s ESSENCE Creole Seasoning which made this Jambalaya MIGHTY spicy, which I prefer. If you do not like spicy, you can use as little as 1 tablespoon of his creole seasoning mix to your dish and still get some good flavor!

This dish was not very easy to photograph, but I promise it is yummy!

Jambalaya

Prep: 15 minutes     Cook: 4 hours     Yield: 6 servings

Ingredients

Tons of seasoning = spicy!

Tons of seasoning = spicy!

  • 1 chicken breast
  • 1/2 onion, chopped
  • 3 stalks celery, chopped
  • 1 red pepper, chopped
  • 1 large garlic clove, chopped
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 2 14.5 ounce cans diced tomatoes
  • 3 bay leaves
  • 1 teaspoon Worchestershire sauce
  • 1 teaspoon hot sauce
  • 1 cup white rice
  • 2 1/2 cups chicken stock
  • 13 ounces andouille sausage
  • 20 medium shrimp, cooked

Directions

All the ingredients simmering away.

All the ingredients simmering away.

  1. Turn crock pot to high. Add olive oil.
  2. Place chicken breast, onion, celery, red pepper, and garlic in crock pot, stir. Let cook for 15 minutes covered.
  3. Stir in Emeril’s ESSENCE Creole Seasoning (recipe follows). Let simmer another 15 minutes covered.
  4. Add in tomatoes, bay leaves, Worchestershire sauce, and hot sauce. Simmer 30 minutes covered.
  5. Stir in rice. Add 2 cups chicken stock. Let cook 1 and 1/2 hours until rice begins to soften.
  6. Add in andouille sausage and shrimp. Turn to low and allow dish to cook 1 hour longer.
  7. Serve hot with a hearty corn bread muffin on the side!

Emeril’s ESSENCE Creole Seasoning (also referred to as Bayou Blast):

  • 2 1/2 tablespoons paprika
  • 2 tablespoons salt
  • 2 tablespoons garlic powder
  • 1 tablespoon black pepper
  • 1 tablespoon onion powder
  • 1 tablespoon cayenne pepper
  • 1 tablespoon dried oregano
  • 1 tablespoon dried thyme

IMG_5917

Enjoy!

One thought on “Jambalaya

  1. Pingback: Southern Corn Muffins | BAKING & BREWING

Leave a Reply

