Fresh Fruit Pavlova

IMG_5980

My lovey dovey’s GOLDEN birthday was yesterday, and when I asked him what kind of treat he would like in celebration, he requested fruit.

Fresh fruit.

This man has GOT to give me more to work with here. I operate a BAKING blog for Pete’s sake.

Time to get creative. How can I still bake something impressive AND stay healthy (a relative term) and light.

PAVLOVA!IMG_5985

My mom had mentioned this dessert recently and it is something my man meat would just LOVE. I have made meringue before and he devours it, so this really was a no-brainer. Plus, I can top it with some beautiful fresh fruit!

Perfection!

I found this recipe titled Best Ever New Zealand Pavlova from a contributor to allrecipes.com. I was unaware of the ongoing battle royale between New Zealand and Australia as to who can claim the origin of the pavlova.

I don’t really care, I just know it’s delicious. So thank you. Whomever. I’d also like to thank ballerina Anna Pavlova for inspiring such a treat. Crispy on the outside, marshmallow-y on the inside. Thank you.

I topped with sliced strawberries, blueberries, raspberries, and blackberries. Not to mention heaps of fat free whipped cream.

Pavlova

Prep: 10 minutes     Bake: 45 minutes

Ingredients

  • Before pouring on to baking sheet.

    Before pouring on to baking sheet.

    3 egg whites

  • 1 1/4 cup sugar
  • 2 tablespoons water
  • 3 teaspoons cornstarch
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon distilled white vinegar
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 275 degrees F (135 degrees C). Grease a cookie sheet, line it with parchment paper and sprinkle a little water over paper.
  2. In a large glass or metal mixing bowl, beat egg whites until foamy. Gradually add sugar, continuing to beat until stiff peaks form. Beat in water, then mix in cornstarch, vanilla, vinegar and salt.
  3. Pour entire meringue mixture onto the center of the pan. Pavlova will spread as it bakes.
  4. Bake in the preheated oven for 45 minutes. Turn oven off and leave Pavlova in the oven until cold. Turn upside-down onto plate and top with fresh fruit and whipped cream. *

* I did not flip mine upside down.

Fresh from the oven!

Fresh from the oven!

Before baking

Before baking

 

IMG_5981

Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Fresh Fruit Pavlova

  1. Pingback: Breaded and Baked Tilapia | BAKING & BREWING

Leave a Reply

