Breaded and Baked Tilapia

IMG_5995

I declared in my January: A Month in Review post that I was going to create and bake more entree dishes. And I haven’t really done a very good job of seeing that through.

My last 5 posts were sinfully sweet little treats (Paczki, Granola, Chocolate Cupcakes, White Cupcakes, and Pavlova), which I enjoyed both making and consuming. However, I am trying to be a well-rounded baking blogger here and I need to throw a bone to my savory side every now and again.

Tonight I decided to dig some tilapia fillets from the freezer to prepare a nice oven baked dinner. Working with what I had in the pantry, I cooked up a pretty nice little meal.

IMG_5987

I also baked some carrots that we had in the refrigerator left over from a chicken noodle soup Wills made earlier in the week (My dad and Grandpa’s recipe: Peel and cut carrots, toss in olive oil with salt and pepper, bake for 45 minutes, enjoy!).

This tilapia is crispy on the outside and a little tangy. I did not follow a recipe so I will provide my own 🙂

Breaded and Baked Tilapia

Prep: 10 minutes     Bake: 20 minutes

Ingredients

  • 2 tilapia fillets
    Coated with wet mixture, coating in bread crumb mixture
    Coated with wet mixture, coating in bread crumb mixture
  • 2 tablespoons mayonnaise
  • 2 tablespoons dijon mustard
  • 3 drops Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 teaspoon lemon juice
  • 1 cup Panko bread crumbs
  • 1 teaspoon paprika
  • 1 teaspoon garlic salt
  • 1 teaspoon black pepper
  • 2 teaspoons chopped parsley

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Spray glass pan with non-stick cooking spray.
  2. Rinse and dry thawed tilapia fillets.
    Ready for the oven!
    Ready for the oven!
  3. Combine mayonnaise, mustard, Worcestershire sauce, and lemon juice. Rub into tilapia fillet.
  4. Combine Panko bread crumbs, paprika, garlic salt, pepper, and parsley in a bowl. Dip coated fillets in bread crumb mixture coating evenly.
  5. Place fillets in prepared baking dish. Bake for 18-20 minutes or until fillets are cooked throughout. Fish will flake easily with a fork when it is done.

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Breaded and Baked Tilapia

Leave a Reply

